Who. doesn’t. know. Juan Luna? Probably the most famous Filipino painter in the 19th century? His magnum opus lies at the central gallery of the National Arts Gallery. And seriously, the first time I saw the Spolarium, I was in awe. Not only is it so big, it is also so… emotional. The images are so powerful, I was close to tears.

Anyway, Yes, we travel far and wide across our beautiful country that is the Philippines to search for our history. I have been blessed to join a roadtrip at Ilocos last year and one of the places we visited is the birthplace of Juan Luna at Badoc, Ilocos Norte!

Photobucket

Photobucket
The Luna House
Photobucket
Paw & Kat

I was impressed that they were able to maintain the house and keep it clean and well preserved. I was just wondering if this was really how their house looked like before? Because the entire place is made up of tisa and baldoza (bricks). I thought houses during the Spanish occupation were mostly Bahay na Bato. Oh well, I’ll ask next time.

Photobucket

Up next, other Ilocos historical markers! Intayon, Ilocos! (is my ilocano correct?)